Ecotone Wins the 2022 AWP Small Press Publisher Award

Long live literary magazines!

Three smiling people stand before a podium. The one at center holds a glass award.
Left to right: associate editor Sophia Stid, editor Anna Lena Phillips Bell, and art director Michael Ramos

In March 2022, the Association of Writers and Writing Programs selected Ecotone as the winner of its Small Press Publisher Award, given in alternate years to a small press or a literary magazine. Recent past winners include One Story, Creative Nonfiction, Birmingham Poetry Review, Milkweed Editions, and Graywolf Press.

The Small Press Publisher Award, as described by AWP, “acknowledges the hard work, creativity, and innovation of these presses and journals, and honors their contributions to the literary landscape through their publication of consistently excellent work.” AWP also recognized Terrain.org and American Short Fiction as finalists.

Upon accepting the award, editor Anna Lena Phillips Bell sounded a hopeful note: “Long live literary magazines, and long live the fight for a sustainable place for us all to live.”

For more, and to read Bell’s full remarks, please visit here. And you can read UNCW’s article about the award here.